- Posts: 37
- Thank you received: 0
Question Deleting post problem
Hello, when You write post and add an attachment (picture) it writes to /public_html/media/kunena/attachments/62 (users id), but when I delete this post, picture doeas not delete from server where it was writen /public_html/media/kunena/attachments/62 (users id). It's very bad thing because it requare space for unused attachemnts when you delete it.
Another bad thing that when you delete post its ok nothing happens but when you click permanently delete, you redirecting to category view, and if you want to delete permanentely another post you need to finde again it... It would be great that when you delete permanetely system would redirect to last post near deleted post.
It would be great that in moderate panel would be function PRUNE.
When you delete a message (or a topic) you do not actually remove anything from the server in K 1.6. The message is still in the message table in the database and the attachments are still on the server.
When you permanently delete a message or a topic, then you physically remove things. Does this help?
I may not have explained it very well. Let me try again.
When you press the "delete" button (post or topic), you don't actually delete anything. After you have "deleted" a post or topic you can then "permanently delete" a post or topic. It's just another button.
When you permanently delete a post or topic then all the attachments should be automatically deleted, too. Have you tested this to see if I'm right?
"When you permanently delete a post or topic then all the attachments should be automatically deleted, too."
When I permanently delete a post or topic attachments stay in server folder /public_html/media/kunena/attachments/users id
I have tested it twise
Thank you for your reply. Evidently, it seems that when you delete messages the attachments remain on the server until you go back and delete them later. I agree with you that this is a bit clumsy. However, that's the way that things currently work.
The good news (I suppose) is that the messages are deleted and so there is little likelihood that the attachments will ever be seen again (except by the administrator in the backend).
- Not Allowed: to create new topic.
- Not Allowed: to reply.
- Not Allowed: to add attachements.
- Not Allowed: to edit your message.